2017-2018 Guam Society Officers Take Oath of Office

On Tuesday, January 3, 2017, the 2017-2018 Guam Society Officers were sworn into office by the Honorable Madeleine Z. Bordallo, Guam’s Congressional Representative at the Guam Congressional Office in the Rayburn House Office Building.  The ceremony took place the same date that Congresswoman Bordallo was sworn in as part of the 115th U.S. Congress.

The ceremony was attended by various Guam Society members and staff members from the Guam Congressional Office as well as family and friends of the Guam Society.  Sworn in were incoming President Aylene Poliarco Mafnas; Vice President Paul Sanchez, and Treasurer Maria Perez-Brodeur.  The Secretary position held by Sara Harrison was sworn in via proxy with Guam Society Member and Guam Congressional Office Staff Member Rosanne Meno.

These officers will serve a two-year term for 2017 and 2018.  The Guam Society is the oldest Guam Club in the mainland United States and celebrates its 65th anniversary as an organization in 2017.  In attendance at the gathering were past Guam Presidents Pete Camit, Al Yanger, and Mike Blas as well as Honorary (‘Manaina’) Members Edgar Yanger, Annie Rosario, Annie and Larry Quichocho, and former officers of the Society.