2012 Guam Society of America Events Calendar and Information

2012 Guam Society Events Calendar and Information – as of 07/11/2012

January/February/March 2012:

Sat, January 28 – General Membership Meeting (1st Qtr, 2012) – Location:  Home of Charlie & Cathy Gulac, Fairfax, VA

Sat, Febauary 11 – Valentine’s Membership Appreciation Night – Location:  Quantico Gardens Restaurant, Quantico, VA

Sat, March 10 – Executive Board Meeting – Location:  Home of Mike and Juvy Blas, Woodbridge, VA

Sat, March 31  - 60th Anniversary / 2012 Guam Society Cherry Blossom Coronation Ball – Location:  Washington Navy Yard

April/May/June 2012:

Weeks of April 8 to April 21  - National Cherry Blossom Celebration (100th Anniversary):

Sun, April 8 (Easter Sunday) – Cherry Blossom Lanterin Lighting Ceremony, Washington, DC

Wed, April 11 – Cherry Blossom Congressional Reception (Capitol Hill – Cannon Caucus Room), Washington, DC

Fri, April 13 – National Conference of States Societies Grand Ball – 100th Coronation of the National Cherry Blossom Queen Renaissance Hotel, Washington, DC

Sat, April 14 – National Cherry Blossom Parade, Washington, DC

Sat, May 12 – General Membership Meeting (2nd Qtr, 2012) – Location:  Home of Melvin and Charlotte Harris, Edgewood, MD

Sat, May 26 – Annual Guam Society Memorial Day Picnic – Location:  Aberdeen Proving Grounds, MD

Mon, May 28 – Guam Society of America Scholarship Submission Deadline (Memorial Day – 11:59PM ET)

Sat, June 30 – Executive Board Meeting  – Location:  Home of Leslie and Therese Quinata, MD)

July/August/September 2012:

Tues, July 17 – Congressional Wreath Laying Ceremony – Location: Arlington National Ceremony (Click on Link for Info) 2012 Wreath Laying Invitation

Wed, July 18 – Congressional Reception – Location:  Cannon Caucus Room, Room 345, New Jersey Ave & Independence Ave, SE, Washington, DC (Click on Link for Info) 2012 Liberation Reception

Sat, July 21 – Annual Guam Society Liberation Picnic/2012 Guam Society Scholarship Presentation, US Coast Guard TISCOM Park, 7323 Telegraph Road, Alexandria, VA 22315 (Click on Link for Info) 2012GSALiberationPicnic

Sat, August 11 – General Membership Meeting (3rd Qtr, 2012) – Location:  Home of Joe and Aylene Mafnas, Centerville, VA

Fri, August 31 – Roberto L. G. Lizama Memorial Classic Golf Tournament – Location:  Andrews Air Force Base, MD

Sat, September 15 – Executive Board Meeting – Location:  Home of Maria Pangelinan, Montclair, VA

Sat, September 22 – Guam Society Softball Team Competes in the National Conference of States Societies’ World Series Softball Tournament – Location:  Bolling AFB, Washington, DC

October/November/December 2012:

Sun, October 7 – Chamorro Night – Location:  Foxchase Manor, Manassas, VA (www.foxchasemanor.com)

Sat, November 24 – Guam Society of America Holiday Party – Location:  To Be Determined

Fri,  Novemer 30 through Fri, December 7 – Santa Marian Kamalin Novenas – Locations:  Various Locations

Sat, December 8 – Santa Marian Kamalin Mass and Final Novena – Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception, Washington, DC

Sat, December 15 – General Membership Meeting (4th Qtr, 2012) – Location:  Home of Danny and Terri Smith, Upper Marlboro, MD